The Katarzyna Kozyra Foundation (Poland) in partnership with MeetFactory (Czech Republic), Easttopics (Hungary) and Björnsonova (Slovakia) invites young female* curators to participate in the Secondary Archive, an online platform for Central and Eastern Europe women artists. The aim of the project is to promote, discover and rediscover female artists and the most valuable phenomena of contemporary art from the female perspective in the Visegrad countries. The Archive will collect statements of female artists of three generations – those who were active before 1989, the generation who started their art practice right after the fall of the Communist regime, and the youngest artists, born after 1989. It will serve as an international source of information about Central and Eastern European female art for both art professionals and the wider audience. The project is supported by the Visegrad Fund and helps to build a cooperation between art institutions and art professionals in Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungary.   


Over a period of 3 months, the selected curators will cooperate with the Katarzyna Kozyra Foundation, MeetFactory, Easttopics and BJÖRNSONOVA. Together with the team of curators for each country, they will be asked to write articles and interview female artists with the aim to develop a research project of women active on the art scene of Visegrad countries, as well as to build a useful narrative for the Archive’s audiences.  


DURATION OF THE COOPERATION: 15 October – 15 December 2020  

Each selected candidate will get a cash grant of 1000 euro** 


To submit the application, please send both English and native language versions of the following documents: 

1) CV 

2) Motivation letter containing the topics of research that you would like to work on, relevant to the area of interest of the Secondary Archive. 

3) Two or three articles which represent the fields of your professional interest and previous practice. Articles  need not have been published, however at least one of them should be in English. 


SUBJECT LINE: Open call for curators        
DEADLINE: September 15, 2020, 12 p.m CET    



An international jury consisting of:


Natalia LL is a visual artist, based in Wrocław. Her famous series Consumer Art was probably the first manifestation of woman sexuality in Polish art.  Since the early 1970’s in her practice she explored the concepts of femininity and supported the feminism movement. 

In the context of the SA project she is an honorary member of the jury.

Agata Cieślak, is a visual artist and writer based in Warsaw, currently working in a close collaboration with Katarzyna Kozyra Foundation, in Poland, the country she represents in the context of Secondary Archive project.

Róna Kopeczky, is an art historian and curator based in Budapest, co-founder of Easttopics, a platform dedicated to Eastern European art life. In the SA project she represents Hungary.

Lucia Kvočáková, is an art historian and curator based in Prague, co-founder of BJÖRNSONOVA – a collective linking the activities and projects focused on cooperation originating from Slovakia, the country she represents in the context of the SA project.

Piotr Sikora is an art critic and curator, based in Prague where he works in MeetFactory – the non-profit international center for contemporary art. In the SA project he represents Czech Republic.


According to the decision of the jury, the selected candidates are:

Magdalena Adameczek (PL)
Marianna Plácaková (CZ)
Viktora Popovics (HU)
and Denisa Tomkova (SK).

Each one of them will be granted with 1000 Euro award. The decision of the jury is final.

For questions and additional information please write to 







Visegrad Fund:

Visegrad Fund


Published on the15 of August, 2020

The results announced on September, 28


*in relation to the definition of female we will accept curators of any gender who consider themselves females.

**even if as a grant the cash award shouldn’t be subject to taxation, this amount must be considered brutto and the final endowment will depend on the laws of each respective country.